PDA

View Full Version : Any player collectors out there?

Vintagevault13
12-14-2014, 06:30 AM
I have been almost exclusively working on my 1965 Topps set this year, but I've hit a point where I need to take a break and work on something else to fight boredom and add some variety. I have gone back to my Hank Aaron collection and started to look for items I need. Growing up in the Atlanta area in the late 60s and 70s, Hank was baseball to us and has continued to be an Atlanta icon. I have enjoyed this and was reminded how much fun (and variety) a player collection can add.

This got me to wondering about other player collectors out there. There doesn't seem to be as much talk about player collections as sets, key cards, etc. I would love to hear about who you collect and why.

hcv123
12-14-2014, 06:41 AM
I have been collecting Clemente for 35+ years. My longer story is on the board somewhere. Short version is I was a "collector" for as long as I can remember. Started with comic books. Got into collecting cards in ~1978 Went to first show at the coliseum motor inn (a monthly show in Long Island, NY) - Was OVERWHELMED with all the "old cards". For some reason The Clemente rookie in a dealers case really stood out to me (I was also excited because it was the most valuable card in the set and a bargain (listed in the cpu/ccp at $86) for sale at $68. A couple of hours and lots of crying, begging, negotiating and whining -Mom shelled out $48 ($47 more than I had ever spent on a card) for that Clemente rookie. I started getting more of his cards. I saw he was in a lot of the obscure harder to find sets (I always loved a challenge). I later learned about him as a person and knew I had picked the right guy. My collection is at a point where there are less than 5 items I know exist that I do not have and wish to own. I'm not holding my breath, but I know anything is possible! ........And yes, I still have that rookie (most meaningful card in my collection)