PDA

View Full Version : Mylar sleeve vs. PSA holder for preservation

JWBlue
10-30-2014, 11:34 AM
I want to distinguish between preserving and protecting the card. The card will be put in a safety deposit box so protecting is not a huge concern. Most important is preventing the card stock from deteriorating. The card I want to preserve is from 2007.

I have read the best way to preserve something made of paper is using Mylar/polyester sleeve. The Library of Congress uses Mylar to protect paper documents.

Another option is a PSA holder. Does anyone know if a PSA holder preserve a card better than a polyester sleeve?

Does anyone have any Mylar trading card sleeves I can buy? I don't believe they are made any more.

http://www.the2buds.com/sumytrcd.htm

cardinalcollector
10-30-2014, 03:19 PM
I've been collecting since 1968 and I haven't seen a card deteriorate yet. I think a 2007 card in a penny sleeve and a plastic holder should be fine for a few lifetimes.

the 'stache
10-30-2014, 06:26 PM
The only thing I'd be concerned about is moisture. If the card is stored out of sunlight, and in a dry place, the card is not going to deteriorate, at least not in your or my lifetime.

steve B
10-30-2014, 08:56 PM
Mylar is the best plastic sleeve out there. Dupont isn't using the Mylar name anymore if I recall it right, as they have a "new" version of polyester that's supposedly better.

Some cardboard can deteriorate a bit, but the process is pretty slow in most cases. Light, heat and being too dry or too moist are the big culprits in deterioration of anything. All that can be hard to manage, excessive cycling of heat is probably worse than a consistently high heat.