PDA

View Full Version : Turning the hobby into a part time job.

granite75
09-02-2014, 11:05 AM
A little background : I am a special education assistant teacher. Very rewarding work, but for very little pay.

I love collecting and learning about the hobby. What I want to know is whether, with a modest investment, I can make a little extra cash. I don't have a ton of cards or disposable income, so I want to plan things out carefully.

Any advice either here or on PM is greatly appreciated. I really enjoy what I do for a living, despite the many challenges. I'm trying to find some ways to make it work on the financial side as well. Thanks in advance.

Scott

MikeGarcia
09-02-2014, 11:53 AM
...you would need to watch out for yard sales , garage sales , new sellers at a flea market , estate sales , moving-to-Florida sales etc. etc. etc. These are all time-consuming ( but really a lot of fun , which is priceless ).

...That's the cheapest way to accumulate stuff to flip ( or keep )

...For selling , you can reach millions of buyers on E-Bay , every weekend evening...

...so a gas-miser car , a couple newspapers , and a great Canon scanner and you're on your way.

...A very understanding wife goes without saying..

...keep us posted ; it's more fun than profit sometimes but you can usually make enough so that you wind up with a less-expensive collection compared to just buying cards on E-Bay...

...good hunting and good luck..

Leon
09-02-2014, 12:18 PM
You can definitely do it. Your money will be made on the buys more than the sells. If you buy right then you will be successful. Do a lot of homework, make calculated risks, and hope for some luck. That about should do it. :)And all of that being said, it's not easy.

granite75
09-02-2014, 03:02 PM
Thanks for all the advice so far. The hardest thing is getting started, knowing I need to get off to a good start and not end up in the red early on.

steve B
09-02-2014, 08:07 PM