PDA

View Full Version : T206 Frank Delehanty

carlsonjok
08-16-2014, 02:51 PM
At the risk of raising the ire of regulars by being the eleventy thousandth person to ask this, I wanted to ask a question about grading of a T206 Frank Delehanty. I bought the following at a show today from a seller I deal with regularly.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii186/carlsonjok/T206_Delehanty_F_zps09a27256.jpghttp://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii186/carlsonjok/T206_Delehanty_B_zps7cf8fbc1.jpg

It is in great condition, so I paid $60 for it. However, T206 is not really in my collecting wheelhouse. I am mainly a post-war set builder (and haven't even gotten out of the 1970s yet.) However, I was thinking that I might grade it* and flip it in order to finance my normal collecting activities. As far as condition, the corners are a little soft, there is a vertical surface wrinkle from the bottom of the card up to the top of the L on the back, and the smudge on the top right hand corner, also on the back. So my questions are as follows:

Is the return over my $60 investment large enough to justify grading?
Is there a preferred grading company for cards of this vintage?

* I know many, if not most, folks here are not particularly enamored with grading. I don't have opinions on it one way or the other, although I never buy graded cards. However, there is a market out there for them and if I can take advantage of it, why not?

t206hound
08-16-2014, 02:53 PM
With the wrinkle, it wouldn't get higher than a 3.5-4... And that assumes it's not trimmed (and my guess is that it is).

Luke
08-16-2014, 03:41 PM
Yeah, it's going to get an "A" most likely. A "3" if you're lucky. Not much chance of recouping your $60 :(

asoriano
08-16-2014, 03:42 PM
Hi Jeff -

I think Erick is right - the card appears to be trimmed from the scan provided (bottom edge looks pretty wavy).

Nice Delehanty nonetheless!

carlsonjok
08-16-2014, 03:43 PM