PDA

View Full Version : Could this be a real Cobb auto?

thebigtrain
07-27-2014, 06:51 PM
Yes, it is from Coach's Corner, but is there any chance this is real?

http://www.myccsa.com/lot/261/ty-cobb-hand-signed-jack-dempseys-restaurant-receipt.aspx

Looks like Cobb had the flounder that day. I'd imagine these old receipts are pretty rare in themselves regardless of the Cobb auto authenticity.

They've also got a Woodrow Wilson and a William Howard Taft signed ball this month, and a Billy the Kid auto cut. I really want a Bonnie and Clyde dual autographed basketball, one that could be seen from 27 feet away, but they haven't seemed to come across one yet on CC.

daves_resale_shop
07-27-2014, 07:15 PM
Not a chance... Ty hated fish... Y feels off, and angle just doesn't seem right

Lordstan
07-27-2014, 07:18 PM
I am no expert on Cobb, but if that came from a known reputable dealer, I would probably believe it was real. Unfortunately, I couldn't/wouldn't/shouldn't buy anything from CC with any expectation of it being real. I added shouldn't buy anything, because I think anyone who puts money in their pocket, even if it were, miracles of miracles, a real signature, is helping them to continue to be in business and rip people off.

Avoid them.

William Farrell
07-27-2014, 08:07 PM
There's also a Jack Dempsey's in New Orleans that is still in business.

IMO, the check looks newer than 1961. And where in the US was sales tax 7.3% prior to 1962?

To my knowledge, there isn't a state that had a sales tax that high until later than 1961, the last year this could have been signed.

gnaz01
07-27-2014, 09:25 PM
Very fake

Lordstan
07-27-2014, 09:32 PM
Very fake

See. That's why I said, I am no expert with Cobb. That's also why I only get stuff from people I trust.

Jay Wolt
07-27-2014, 09:36 PM
I have a stack of these Jack Dempsey receipts and was told they were late 60's/early 70's when I bought them.
So these were generated after Cobb died.