PDA

View Full Version : Tony LaRussa 1978 TCMA Minor League Card

metrotheme
07-23-2014, 11:06 AM
This is my first time seeing this card ... Tony LaRussa's 1978 TCMA Minor League issue. What can you tell me about this card? Were these cards heavily produced?

www.ebay.com/itm/151362315749

tonyo
07-23-2014, 11:19 AM
I grew up in Knoxville and received this card as part of a stadium give away team set. Also contained Harold Baines and Steve Trout. There may have been one more future Major Leaguer in the set but I cant recall who.

DaClyde
07-23-2014, 07:11 PM
Richard Dotson was the other guy who get a small amount of success in the majors for about a decade.

AustinMike
07-24-2014, 08:33 AM
This production level for this set may be relatively low. I collected minor league cards up until 2001 and this set was one of the more valuable 1978 sets. Although, its value is due more to the Harold Baines card than the LaRussa. Back in 2001, the complete 25 card set was valued at $250 (a later release with 26 cards was valued at $350). I just did a search at a major minor league card dealer and he has the complete 25 card set listed at $195. There is also a complete set on eBay for $105.

If you're interested in LaRussa, he also had a card in the 1979 Iowa Oaks minor league team set.

Jim65
07-24-2014, 09:09 AM
Some of the 1970's minor league team sets are very rare, in some instances, only a few hundred were made. Very few collectors means these sets almost never sell for book price.

tonyo
07-24-2014, 11:30 AM
After reading Mike's post, I was feeling a little low since I sold my set 5 years ago on a 7 day ebay auction and got $30 for it.

Checked recently sold auctions on ebay and see that it went for $41 dollars with a psa graded Baines about 2 weeks ago.

Tony

bbcard1
07-24-2014, 08:25 PM
My favorite of those old TCMA cards is the Scott Boras.

AustinMike
07-25-2014, 06:57 AM