PDA

View Full Version : 19th Century Baseball Belt - Info Needed

IronHorse2130
07-19-2014, 04:30 PM
So I have no experience with 19th century equipment and want some opinions on this belt. Because it says BBC I am confident its a baseball belt and not a fire belt. Can anyone tell me when it is from? How can I tell 1860's vs 1870's? The asking price is a bit over $1000.00. If it's from the 1860's that seems fair to me. Any and all help is appreciated. Thank you!

Matvoo
07-20-2014, 08:42 AM
Cool piece

MGHPro
07-20-2014, 09:07 AM
I would be very cautious on that - it's very easy to paint and age lettering
Matt

1880nonsports
07-20-2014, 10:10 AM
would it then be another case of criminal "humor" or an unconscious slip given the suggestive meaning of the team initials ?

aquarius31
07-20-2014, 10:59 AM
Try to get more details from the seller on how he/she acquired it and any additional background such as location....I previously recall seeing this in one of my online searches and vaguely recall it being from somewhere out West? I'm curious as to why/how they date this item to 1860-1870. This belt is unlike the other belts which I have seen(dual use fire/baseball) and has a more folk art feel to it although the detail on the lettering is quite intricate. It has age to it but I'd be cautious about shelling out $1k + without more details.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

drcy
07-20-2014, 11:27 AM
Not a sure fire test, but paint tends to lose it's black light fluorescence with time. Black lights are used to help judge the age of the paint and varnish on antique collectibles, such as fishing lures and toy banks. These antique items are sometimes repainted and revarnished in modern times, similar to how baseball cards are sometimes altered. Added new yellow paint will often fluoresce fairly brightly, whereas antique paint will have lost much of its fluorescence.