PDA

View Full Version : Sweet Caporal pack on EBay

Mountaineer1999
07-16-2014, 09:29 PM
What's the chances of this pack holding a T206?

http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=221496931328&alt=web

slipk1068
07-16-2014, 09:40 PM
Slim to none. I am no expert but as far as I know, Sweet Cap T206 cards were distributed in 10 cigarette packs not 15. That tax stamp was used for a period of many years.

hshrimps
07-16-2014, 09:45 PM
Factory seems right but I wouldn't jump on it since it looks like it has been tampered with. That big hole on the top most likely mean someone might have used a toothpick or stick to "feel" whether there's any cardboard in the pack already.

Leon
07-16-2014, 10:04 PM
Slim to none. I am no expert but as far as I know, Sweet Cap T206 cards were distributed in 10 cigarette packs not 15. That tax stamp was used for a period of many years.

The description says it has a 1910 over stamp on the tax stamp so that much is known. However, from what I have read, I too believe the baseball cards came in 10 count packs.

slipk1068
07-16-2014, 11:04 PM
The description says it has a 1910 over stamp on the tax stamp so that much is known. However, from what I have read. I too believe the baseball cards came in 10 count packs.

Yes Leon but I recall reading somewhere that tax stamp dates are unreliable. They were often used for a period of many years. You are certainly an expert on packaging so I will defer to you or maybe someone else can chime in.

gnaz01
07-17-2014, 03:59 AM
Calling Jon C.

pbspelly
07-17-2014, 08:03 AM
Still pretty cool item, but not worth $3k

Leon
07-17-2014, 08:18 AM
Yes Leon but I recall reading somewhere that tax stamp dates are unreliable. They were often used for a period of many years. You are certainly an expert on packaging so I will defer to you or maybe someone else can chime in.