PDA

View Full Version : T206 Price Guide vs. Reality

Mountaineer1999
07-01-2014, 01:40 PM
Hello all... I am new to Net54Baseball and thus this forum. What brought me here was the T206 set. I have been exploring several sites trying to learn as much as I could about the set before handing over real money for fakes and/or vastly over paying for raw and/or graded cards. Through my research, it has come clear to me that book value is out the window on all the cards in the set. I cannot find anyone selling the cards for what is considered "Book". Most of my shopping has been on EBay but I have looked at a view auction sites and individuals web sites.
My first question, am I correct, are these cards all priced above book? And secondly where do the smart collectors get their cards for this set, is it trade shows, ebay, trading with other collectors, auctions? Any and all help would be greatly appreciated so that I can start my journey in the right way.

thanks,
donnie

Luke
07-01-2014, 01:46 PM
Yeah, I think you have to throw out any books you're looking at. I've never looked at a price guide for T206 other than auction tracking sites like cardtarget.com or vcp.com, which can be useful. Tracking ebay SOLD listings for awhile is probably your best bet at getting used to what things are worth. Don't pay any attention to what sellers are asking on ebay, only to what cards have actually sold for. Don't rush into any purchases until you feel comfortable. You can feel free to send me a PM if you have a card you're looking at buying and I can probably help you with a general value. I check this site a few times a day. Good luck! It's a fun set.

Luke

Mountaineer1999
07-01-2014, 01:57 PM