PDA

View Full Version : Convention advice

Tomman1961
06-28-2014, 10:01 AM
I am new to setting up at a show as a dealer. The show is a good size. Not The National, but also not a local show like a firehouse. Any advice? I want to max my space.

brewing
06-28-2014, 11:24 AM
My advice is to price cards beforehand.

pawpawdiv9
06-28-2014, 12:19 PM
Dont have a Beckett price guide laying around :]

Wite3
06-28-2014, 12:22 PM
Discounts for Net54 members.

Stonepony
06-28-2014, 12:34 PM
My advice is to price cards beforehand.

+1

Peter_Spaeth
06-28-2014, 03:05 PM
Charge 2x market price. You'll fit right in. :D:D

06-28-2014, 03:09 PM
Stand up, be friendly, and actually talk to customers.

Runscott
06-28-2014, 03:21 PM
Do a dry run set- up at home.

Sent from my SM-G730V using Tapatalk

buymycards
06-28-2014, 04:47 PM
Have everything organized before you leave home. Signs made, every card priced, everything boxed up and organized so you can set up quickly. Get to the show as early as possible and get set up as quickly as possible. There is a good chance that most of your big sales will be to other dealers before the show opens to the public. Have a PayPal credit card app for your smartphone. Make sure you have plenty of change so you can break $100 bills and $20 bills. Keep your cash on your person so no one can steal it. Make sure you bring extra price stickers, a marker, a pen, a notebook to record sales and purchases, a copy of your sales tax permit, price guides, extra top loads and penny sleeves, small shopping bags and small boxes to bag up purchases for your customers.
It doesn't hurt to have a large bowl full of candy at your table with a "free" sign posted. Bring an appliance dolly to haul your stuff in and out.

Be prepared for offers on your merchandise. Nobody will pay the price that is marked on the card. Decide before the show how much you can discount your listed prices.