PDA

View Full Version : 1933 Goudey Lou Gehrig Real or Fake?

MUhoops
05-16-2014, 09:31 AM
Hello all,
I'm new to collecting Pre WWII cards. I fear I may not have done enough homework on this purchase. The seller says it's authentic, and will give me a refund if not which is nice.
I was going to send to PSA, but wanted to get your opinions as I think it might be a waste to send in.
My concerns are...
1) The width is slightly larger than 2 3/8". Not sure if some were cut slightly larger.
2) The bat is extending too much over the border. Just a slight faint yellow really over the border.
3) The color of his skin seems slightly reddish

Attached are pics. Any help is much appreciated! Thanks

Leon
05-16-2014, 09:48 AM
It is real and will probably grade a 1. Since it's a higher end card it's still worth slabbing if you want to, imo.

MUhoops
05-16-2014, 10:01 AM
It is real and will probably grade a 1. Since it's a higher end card it's still worth slabbing if you want to, imo.

Really?! That's good to hear. The card seemed authentic, but I was really worried about the bat and the fact that it's slightly wider than the spec.

I purchased with the intention of getting a PSA 1. Thanks!

Leon
05-16-2014, 10:19 AM
Really?! That's good to hear. The card seemed authentic, but I was really worried about the bat and the fact that it's slightly wider than the spec.

I purchased with the intention of getting a PSA 1. Thanks!

I think it will be fine.....Good luck and let us know. As time goes by, and you have looked at literally hundreds and thousands of '34 Goudeys, most times we can tell from a scan. But that one as all of the right characteristics.

6-4-3memorabilia
05-16-2014, 10:20 AM
It does look good but to piggy back Leon it is a low grade. As far as the picture itself it just might be the view of the picture that looks off. Would be a great pick up since a lot of people are scared buying Gehrig cards raw.

Bocabirdman
05-16-2014, 10:38 AM