View Full Version : BEWARE: Scam on eBay

05-10-2014, 02:31 PM
OK, here is an item that I bought and returned a couple months ago (I thought it may be real after speaking with the seller). I kinda knew it wasn't real but he gave me assurance that he consigned a ton of stuff to Heritage and forgot this. Well, the sellers user ID was:


And here is a link of his items on eBay (states his location is in Illinois): http://www.ebay.com/sch/deadballmatty/m.html?item=161300997711&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEWAX%3AIT&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2562

Now, the reason I am showing this is because when I bought the "Cobb" candy jar, when I received it, inspected it, and determined the "label" was bright white computer paper AND I purchased it from "deadballmatty" and it came to me shipped from the Charlotte, NC area.

So, now it is for sale AGAIN from a different (maybe) seller in Charlotte, NC and here is the link:


Any way, this item isn't real, and you can look at deadballmatty's other items and determine for yourself.

Greg Nazareth

05-10-2014, 02:53 PM
I have watched a few of his items in the past, but always scared to pull the trigger. From some off his descriptions and pics something just feels off ( at least the items I was watching)

05-10-2014, 08:47 PM
Yup... lots of suspicious stuff and outright fantasies/fakes. The Fan for a Fan and Hassan piece can both be identified as bogus at first glance.

The only items that might be real are the relatively common and low value ads that were cut from old magazines.


05-11-2014, 03:20 PM
I copied this over from the memorabilia section as I believe it's important to show this, what looks to be, fraudulent activity to as many collectors as possible.

05-12-2014, 07:00 PM
On a positive note, he's selling a wicked cool Chad Ochocinco auto'd card.....;)