PDA

View Full Version : Real Fred Clarke Photo?

GoCubsGo32
03-12-2014, 01:23 PM
Please tell me this wasn't real....or else someone got a great deal!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/261413003424?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&autorefresh=true

prewarsports
03-12-2014, 01:33 PM
Looks like a newspaper or spalding guide page glued to a mount. WAY too grainy.

horzverti
03-12-2014, 03:23 PM
Nope, you got the deal by missing this one. :)

GoCubsGo32
03-12-2014, 06:50 PM
Thanks guys! I can sleep better tonight :)

fossilcards
03-16-2014, 01:46 AM
Ok I may be the guy that got the bad deal. I won the auction and received it today. The "photo" is not from the Spalding guides but appears to be made of silk. I compared it to one of my S74 and under a loop, it appears to be the same material, although I am by no means a textile expert. Has anyone heard of these type of photographs being printed on silk?? I've seen this portrait of Fred Clarke on early programs and other "paper" items but I've never seen anything printed on silk like this. I've never heard of fakes either so I'm really lost here...any help is much appreciated.

prewarsports
03-16-2014, 10:50 AM
Could you post come better pictures of it?

Yi
03-16-2014, 11:49 AM
How about this photo of Fred Clarke? Any comments?

drcy
03-16-2014, 12:01 PM
No comment on the eBay Clarke photo, but, as far as silk texture goes, old photo paper did come in different textures. Photos were usually smooth and glossy, but could come in matte and textured. The image texture may sometimes be cloth-like.

On the eBay Clarke photo specifically, it's something I'd have to see in person before I made a formal opinion on it. It's just speculation for me looking at the small eBay pictures. To me, it looks more like a ink print rather than real photo, but, again, I'm just looking at the small pictures. As the S74s and many other period cloth collectables demonstrate, they could and did make ink prints on cloth back then.