PDA

View Full Version : Was this a good deal?

t206fix
03-08-2014, 11:01 PM
http://www.ebay.com/itm/201042648179

Not trying to be a smart a$$, but just curious. I don't know how to put a value on those rarer backs.

Thanks for any input.

(I was not the winner, nor did I notice this auction when it was live.)

freakhappy
03-08-2014, 11:09 PM
I'm no back expert, but IMO you got a good deal...very tough back. At the very least I would say you definitely didn't lose out.

t206fix
03-08-2014, 11:16 PM
Congrats on your 100th post, but, alas, I was not the winner :(.

Just curious what this would bring if the seller actually posted Pied 42....

t206fix
03-08-2014, 11:20 PM
On a side note, here is another card that I wonder about...

Who'd pay $260 for a cut out Cobb...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/360847105443

freakhappy
03-08-2014, 11:34 PM

Thanks, man! :D

It's always tough to tell on some of these front-end tough backs. You don't see them for sale much and the condition of this one is kinda rough, but the player and back carries a lot of weight here. I feel like it's closer to 1k, if not a little more...but again, this is just my opinion since I've never seen one sell before for this particular card. I wonder if because the back wasn't headlined, it received less attention. It seems like this sort of thing is common for Piedy 42's because some people aren't educated on them and it looks like a regular Piedmont back.

About the Cobb...here is another one that is almost half gone that just sold on eBay for around the same price. http://www.ebay.com/itm/T206-Piedmont-Ty-Cobb-Bat-Off-BVG-A-Authentic-Detroit-Tigers-/360871784016?pt=US_Baseball&hash=item5405a26e50

It's amazing that someone would pay that much for a Cobb that is so shellacked, but I guess there is a market for it.

t206fix
03-08-2014, 11:44 PM
Thanks, man! :D