PDA

View Full Version : If a fire started, What do you do?

pawpawdiv9
01-19-2014, 12:13 PM
Ok guys Whats important?
If a fire started, What would you do?

1. Get out and run (and family& dog)
2. Grab the wallet
3. Grab any sports collectibles around
4. Grab the safe (if able to carry)
5. grab any electronics (laptops cell phones, ipads)
6. grab a garden hoses and buckets
7. Tell the fireman to hurry up, i got collectibles in there

Jim65
01-19-2014, 12:15 PM
1 & 2

Griffins
01-19-2014, 12:17 PM
We get a lot of fires in SoCal, and when the news crews come in the first thing most people lament losing is their photos and videos.
Save people and pets first, photos 2nd, the rest is just stuff.

gregr2
01-19-2014, 12:25 PM
Family is more important than anything else.

ibuysportsephemera
01-19-2014, 12:28 PM
I know that this was supposed to be a tongue in cheek post...but as a volunteer firefighter I can offer some serious advice. If you do have a fire... and you can close the door the fire room...do it. A closed door to the fire room can stop the rapid spread of a fire. If you do get stuck in a fire, it probably will be the smoke that will do the most damage to you or kill you. There usually is a small layer of clean air close to the floor. If you can put your face into your shirt and crawl along the floor, you increase your odds of getting out. When you get out, do not under any circumstances go back into the fire building. You will probably not get out and the way we deal with a fire with people in the structure is very different than if the building is empty. Of course the most obvious is make sure that your smoke detectors and co detectors are working.

Jeff

ALR-bishop
01-19-2014, 12:34 PM
After starting a fire at Bob and Anthony's house, I would wait until they went out the front door and then go in the back door to try to save their collections. I would do the same for Larry, but do not know where he lives...which is probably just how Larry intends it