PDA

View Full Version : PSA or SGC?

STL1944
01-17-2014, 07:18 PM
I apologize if this subject has been discussed before. I searched through a bunch of posts but could not find anything outside of some side comments…

I am relatively new to re-entering the hobby. Actually it was seeing a 1953 Bowman Stan Musial that drew me back in. Beautiful. As a result I have become obsessed with trying to put together the entire 1953 Bowman color set. So far I am about 50 or so cards in the process (mostly commons so far).

All of the cards I have purchased so far are “raw” and ungraded, although most are in excellent condition. My questions for the group:

1) How do you decide when you have a card graded?
2) Which service do you like for 1950’s baseball cards? PSA? SGC? Or Other?

Thanks!

vintagetoppsguy
01-17-2014, 07:33 PM
How do you decide when you have a card graded?!

I wouldn't grade anything with less than $100 value...unless you want to do the entire set on the registry, then that's different. Especially if its just mid-grade stuff. A lot of set builders do the commons raw and the major stars graded.

Which service do you like for 1950’s baseball cards? PSA? SGC? Or Other?

I would use SGC as the black gaskets really make those '53 Bowman Colors pop.

mybestbretts
01-17-2014, 08:03 PM
I am a registry member at PSA and I have had cards graded and also bought cards graded. If you just look at ebay, there are more PSA graded cards sold
then other graders. So, that is who I would go with.

Bestdj777
01-17-2014, 08:19 PM
At the end of the day you just have to figure out what your goals are and what you think will best accomplish them. Here are some suggestions though:

1. If you are hoping to get a complete set and put it on a registry, I would recommend PSA--it is one of the better registries.
2. If you do not plan to start a registry set and want to keep them all together, I would consider leaving them all as is.