PDA

View Full Version : My Afternoon with Ziggy

frankbmd
01-08-2014, 09:09 AM
There have been threads recounting personal experiences with major leaguers and threads of recollection of our individual collecting histories. Most prewar collectors, I’ve come to learn are also historians of the game. This true story is a bit different though, although it touches on all of the above. I don’t expect it to provoke an overwhelming response or even other similar incidents, but I may be surprised. Thank you in advance for your indulgence of.......

My Afternoon with Ziggy

The nickname “Ziggy” is probably not unique in the lore of baseball. Though I doubt that many of you can name a ball player named Ziggy. I certainly couldn’t then and haven’t encountered any others since.

Some of us have jobs that are directly related to the sport, but I would guess that most of us have a clear separation between our vocation and our avocation of baseball. As many of you know I am a retired physician. During my training I had the opportunity to work for three months at Wrigley Field covering the stadium, both fans and players, during Cub games for the team physician. Other than that brief period, my vocation and avocation have not intersected.

In the early 1980s an elderly black patient came to my office with a hernia that required surgical repair. The hernia was unremarkable and the medical and surgical process was totally uneventful. He could have easily been in and out of the office and in and out of the hospital in one day without any discussion of his past. Here today, gone tomorrow.

Something quite different occurred however, as I always had the tendency to try to connect with my patients on a topic extraneous to their medical problem. The patient’s name was Everett (the Ziggy thing came later) and I can’t recall exactly how the conversation started, but I must have asked something about Everett’s past when the subject of baseball came up.