PDA

View Full Version : E98 Old Put Back Survey UPDATED from May 2009

Tim Kindler
01-03-2014, 07:25 PM
Good Evening,
Jason Cs thread on E98s, and the fact that I actually have time on my hands to participate on the board since I am a teacher on Christmas Vacation, got me inspired to update a list in which I started on a thread back in May of 2009. I was trying to catalog every known E98 with an Old Put 5 ct. Cigar Overprint on the back. I was trying to show a scan of as many of them as possible and show the provenance, as much as I can, of each card.

Leon mentioned in one of the replys that Overprints like the Old Put Stamp and the ones found in E94 are not everybody's cup of tea. In fact, many collectors don't see the uniquesnes of them, but as Leon put it, it just means that there are more of them out there and cheaper for those of us who are interested in them. I totally agree with him.

Anyway, below I will list the cards, and as much information/provenance of each card as I know. I will include the scans of the 4 that I own and hope that others will follow suit on this thread so that we can document each one within this thread. Chuck W. (Thanks Chuck!) took his time and effort to help school me on moving things such as words or photos from 1 thread to another in a private message the other day, and if I get some extra time in the future, I will try his directions out by moving some of the scans from the old thread in 2009 to this thread.
But, don't hold your breath though, I am technologically stupid!

Here is what I believe is currently the most updated list of E98s with Old Put 5ct. Cigar overprint stamps on the back. Currently, they are only known to be on a blue or red backgrounded E98. A few years back, someone tried to fake a green backgrounded E98 with a fake stamp, but it was pretty obvious. If you have any information, scans, corrections, or NEW additions to our checklist, please don't hesitate to add!