PDA

View Full Version : Info requested on 1890's cabinet card

scooter729
12-19-2013, 06:51 PM
Hi,

I recently bought this cabinet card, picturing Bob Allen of the Boston Beaneaters. I assume it would be from 1897, as that was his only year with Boston.

My questions on it:

- Would it be common for a cabinet card of a Boston player (and a common one at that) to appear on a mount from a Minnesota photography studio? He wasn't from Minnesota or anything like that either.

- The writing which you see at the top of the card doesn't actually appear to be on the cabinet itself; it almost appears like the writing was on some original copy of the photo, which was then printed with the photo. Is that possible? I can't swear that the writing isn't on this cabinet itself as I'm not an expert on it, but my initial guess is that it isn't.

Any thoughts anyone has on this would be most appreciated - thanks!!

scooter729
12-19-2013, 06:55 PM
OK, well, I guess I should have done some Google searching first. I just discovered the same card (with the same writing) but with another studio mount. The image is small and doesn't link to anything to help, but I found this interesting....

At least it confirmed for me that the writing is NOT on this card itself.

Now, anyone with any more info?

rhettyeakley
12-19-2013, 07:24 PM
Looks like a badly made reproduction of an original Elmer Chickering cabinet known from the Library of Congress collection. The writing was fountain pen on the original cabinet which on subsequent copies would "appear" to be part of the image.

http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/cph/item/2008678935/

Pretty easy to "make" these by taking a reproduction image of the player photo and pasting them on an original cabinet mount.