PDA

View Full Version : 1889 Boston Baseball Club Lithograph - Real or Fake?

aquarius31
12-14-2013, 03:30 PM
Hi All,
Looking for opinions on this item that I just picked up. I have been collecting 19th century prints for several years now and have picked up a handful of original lithographs including a well known Prang print along with an 1888 large format Hastings print. I have provided scans below of this '1889' print. It does not display any multi-dot patterns at all and nice details under magnification although not as detailed as my larger format prints. This one is a small format measuring 12" x 9" and looks to be similar to this one offered REA several years back.

http://www.robertedwardauctions.com/auction/2006/973.html

It's obviously in poor shape but still a really neat piece that will display nicely with my other prints. The foxing and thickness of the paper are consistent with 19th century prints but really would like some thoughts/opinions on whether or not this is the real deal. Thanks.

doug.goodman
12-14-2013, 10:07 PM
Looks very cool to me. As for whether it's real or fake, I would go with your gut, and if your gut says fake, it stilll looks cool.

Doug

barrysloate
12-15-2013, 04:44 AM
It's typically found much larger, but based on the scan it certainly looks period. Probably needs a little more research. You might want to have that deacidified as it looks quite brittle.

the 'stache
12-15-2013, 04:46 AM
I hope they're authentic, George. What incredibly cool pieces!

By the way, anybody else have the theme song from "Cheers" just pop into their head? :D

aquarius31
12-15-2013, 12:38 PM
Thanks guys! I am leaning towards it being real given the paper thickness, foxing/staining, and clarity under magnification. Barry, yes that's a great suggestion re deacification and will take it to a conservator that has done some great work for me in the past (see below before and after).