PDA

View Full Version : Team Auto Ball question

almostdone
12-05-2013, 09:13 PM
I am a novice at best when it comes to autographs so I pass this along to those with much more know how. Is there certain team signed balls (assuming all the autographs are legit) worth the value of the sum of the signatures on the ball?

For instance I know that Babe Ruth single signed ball would probably fetch as close to or even more than a team ball with his signature on it but what if the ball was from say the 1927 Yankees team?

The reason I ask is it has come to my attention that a man in my community owns a team signed ball from the 1918 World Champion Boston Red Sox. It has close to 30 autographs on it including Ruth. It is owned by a father of a young man who works with me and he asked me what I thought it might be worth. I had no idea so I called a friend of mine who collects autographs to ask him. He didn't seem to feel that it would get much more of a premium than just a single signed Ruth ball from the same time. Then again, my friend might not really know what he is talking about when it comes to an item like this.

I am not in debate over the authenticity of the ball but rather just a general question as to why a ball like this wouldn't command a higher price when it has (in my opinion) more historical value than a single singed ball?

Any opinions and help would be appreciated.
Drew

dgo71
12-06-2013, 12:27 AM
Not my realm of expertise by any stretch, but I would think it would be worth more, for the historical aspect you noted and considering there are likely one or two (or more) players on that ball that are much tougher to find (though not as in demand) as Ruth. Team signed balls from that era are almost unheard of, so if it's in nice shape I would guess its value to be higher than a single-signed Ruth, maybe considerably so depending on the players present on the ball.

RelicSports
12-06-2013, 11:54 AM