PDA

View Full Version : Introduction 19th century collector

bgar3
09-18-2013, 07:02 AM
I am newly registered, but have been a long time reader of net 54. Currently I collect 19th century baseball books, primarily associational copies relating to George Wright and Henry Chadwick, along with related cdvs and cabinets. I have been collecting in varying degrees of intensity for over 40 years but have had to part with (for varying reasons) an excellent book collection and an important 1912 world series collection. Recently i have had excellent interactions with net 54 members,(thank you especially Max and Jim) and have known of and admired Barry's book expertise for a long time.
i do not collect cards unless you count my Ashburn cards from childhood, or things like Warren cdvs. I have grown to love t206s from reading the forum, but have none. I still have some non-baseball books (1st ed lewis and clark w/o map) but now concentrate solely on baseball.
I love unique, unusual associational items and thought an interesting item for my first post would be to refer those who have a Chadwick's 1868 Game of Baseball(1st or reprint) to page 47 to find the error that chadwick corrected in my copy. Considering the early date of the book, this typo could have been very confusing to eary players.
I look forward to participating and contibuting in a posive way, may ask a few questions for help on getting info on a few of my items, and i hope to participate in the b/s/t area (empahsis on trade where almost anything i have is tradable for something i want more).
Unfortunatley i do not have a scan, but do have access to one so please be patient with me. thank you.

Leon
09-18-2013, 07:09 AM
welcome to the forum..Good luck in the quest.

Cardboard Junkie
09-18-2013, 10:32 AM
Aloha! Dave.

ethicsprof
09-18-2013, 11:07 AM
welcome aboard the board!!
all the best
barry

joeadcock
09-18-2013, 11:36 AM
Welcome

(Hey Barry)

ethicsprof
09-18-2013, 06:45 PM
thanks for the greeting, ole buddy.