PDA

View Full Version : Abe Attell 1938 card

attellfan4life
08-31-2013, 10:07 AM
Has anyone ever seen this set before? Was wondering if these are super rare never seen this card before Attell is #13 in this set wish the new owner breaks it up and sells as individuals. Anyone have more info on these?

Thanks for any info

RCMcKenzie
08-31-2013, 09:10 PM
Robert, here is an auction with a description of these cards...

www.legendaryauctions.com/LotDetail.aspx?inventoryid=155086

attellfan4life
08-31-2013, 09:28 PM
Are they very rare? I have been collecting Abe Attell since 2007 never seen this card on any list. I would love to own one.

RCMcKenzie
08-31-2013, 10:13 PM
My understanding is that it is a foreign issue. Jefferson Burdick catalogued them, so they are not a new discovery. I would guess they are very scarce. Others on here probably can tell you more about them.

Exhibitman
09-01-2013, 02:50 PM
As rare as it gets. I have had them cataloged in my book for a while [I slid them into the book on the pretense that the Philippines were an American territory at the time of issue so they are an "American" issue]. I've seen three groups of these ever. The one in Legendary that was the Dreiers' was the largest ever. There were a handful on eBay some years ago of the workout cards. Also a single or two on eBay. Oddly there also was a wrapper offered several years ago. The explanation in the auction description seems likely. The Japanese kicked the hell out of the Philippines so I am not surprised that a freaking card issue was all but lost.

If anyone wants a type card I was the winner of the lot and have some I am wiling to sell or trade.

attellfan4life
09-01-2013, 09:51 PM
Thank you for the info. Looks like it may be a wile before I acquire one.

Exhibitman
09-02-2013, 08:01 AM
I knew I had these images floating around somewhere.

Four of the workout cards:

http://photos.imageevent.com/exhibitman/rareboxingcards/websize/American%20Sweets%20exercises.jpeg