PDA

View Full Version : Opinions please: Ty Cobb signed photo...

Kzoo
08-06-2013, 03:00 PM
Guys...........I'm interested in possibly purchasing this Ty Cobb signed photo, but wanted to see if anyone here had any opinions on it's authenticity first. My first thought is 'Good', but it's not signed in his trademark 'green' ink. I always thought he signed mostly everything towards the end of his life in green ink?? Thanks in advance for any opinions...........Matt

mr2686
08-06-2013, 04:49 PM
OMG...that's my B-day. I sure hope it's real!!

Lordstan
08-06-2013, 07:27 PM
Wow! You're old! :D
I'm no expert, but it looks decent to me.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

sccoe
08-06-2013, 07:53 PM
Jim Armstrong was a well known autograph collector. The signature looks good to me.

Kzoo
08-07-2013, 03:01 PM
Guys........Thanks for the responses so far. Any other opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance..........Matt

CMIZ5290
08-07-2013, 03:17 PM
Matt- definitely good....Great example!

mr2686
08-07-2013, 04:17 PM
Matt, if you buy it and ever want to sell it, please keep me in mind.

JimStinson
08-08-2013, 11:12 AM
James Armstrong had one of the largest collections ever assembled, Most of his photos are of him posed with the player, My guess is that in the Cobb photo there is a short fellow having a "bad hair day" posed next to him. That's Armstrong , he used to also place a duffle bag at his feet in the photos that said something like "James Armstrong Autograph Collector" , Photo was likely taken at Cooperstown as he was a regular there every year.

After he died in the 1960's his family sold his collection, The rumor was that Joe DiMaggio wanted to buy it for his restaurant and another collector got it instead. There was an article written about the collection that supposedly had MANY THOUSANDS of signed baseballs , Most single signed. I was told it took two semi tractor trailers to haul everything away.