PDA

View Full Version : Need opinions on Ted Williams signature

RelicSports
07-27-2013, 11:26 AM
I purchased this a couple years back. This was previously won by the seller in an auction of 3 signed life magazines from a Huggins and Scott lot, and came with an auction LOA from JSA (I know that doesn't necessarily mean anything). I am always skeptical with Teddy Ballgame sigs because of rumors of his son signing his name better than him and also the variations of his T's at times. Any feedback from my fellow Net54er's as to if you think this is legit would be greatly appreciated. I want to make sure I have a legit Williams in my collection, and if not, go out and find one. Thanks Gents!!

MooseDog
07-27-2013, 02:35 PM
I'm not really a Ted expert, but have seen a lot of them. Often a signature strikes me one way or another on gut feeling (the Malcolm Gladwell "Blink" moment) and in this case I feel highly positive.

shelly
07-27-2013, 02:47 PM
:):):):):):)

mr2686
07-27-2013, 03:18 PM
I'll throw in my "like" vote on this one too.

losjets1984
07-27-2013, 05:00 PM
It's real

Rumor of his son signing for him is BS.

RichardSimon
07-27-2013, 05:22 PM
It's real

Pretty definitive statement for your very first post on Net 54.
Who are you?
Yes, I agree that signature is real but,,,
I saw a number of items which came from Green Diamond (the Williams family company) which I thought could not possibly have been signed by Ted.
The son chopped Ted's head off, signing his autograph is a piece of cake if you have already done that.
Considering the character of his son forging autographs would probably come as second nature to him.
And I have never heard anyone except this new member defend John Henry Williams, the hobby is rife with the rumor that John signed many items.
And sometimes, just sometimes, where there is smoke there is fire.

Leon
07-27-2013, 06:15 PM
It's real

I have no idea about the autograph.