PDA

View Full Version : Vintage cubs world champions mirror

sicollector1954
07-24-2013, 09:43 PM
So I now am looking at this vintage mirror in person for the first time and was wondering if anyone could tell me if this is from the 1907 team or the 1908 team based on the players photos....I figure there has to be a player who might have played one of the seasons and not the other and that might solve the mystery....I am not good at identifying pictures so have at it if anyone who is able.
Mirror itself measures 3 and a half inches in diameter and is 7 inches in length from top to bottom with the attached handle. Thanks for any help and opinions...Can't find another one of these that have ever surfaced....may bring to the National to have people take a look in person if anyone is interested. Thanks.
Dave

sicollector1954
07-24-2013, 09:44 PM
Sorry the pic comes up sideways...don't know why.....

AgonyandIvy
07-24-2013, 10:50 PM
I believe it is from the 1908 season as that picture is identical to the pinback that was also issued to commemorate the 1908 Championship.

sicollector1954
07-25-2013, 05:08 AM
Thanks much.

springpin
07-25-2013, 08:08 AM
The company that produced it also made other items with celluloid (plastic), such as pinbacks, matchsafes, pocket knives, etc. Your item is very scarce and valuable. What is most intriguing to me about your mirror is that it still retains the full handle. Over 100 years after its production, someone has taken good care of it.

Paul

sicollector1954
07-25-2013, 09:24 AM
Yes--the person who now owns it is looking to possibly sell in the near future. It has been passed down in the family and I am trying to find out as much info/value about it as possible....not my area of knowledge so any comments here is a big big help.