PDA

View Full Version : Need Help: T206 Print Freak Question

mrvster
07-02-2013, 05:34 AM
Hello All:)

As y'all know I love T206 printer's scraps/freaks ect....I have been collecting them since 2000 and have seen a lot of T206 in the past 13 years or so....I acquired this TOPSY HARTSEL "color shift" freak a year or two ago on ebay....I liked it because the color shift is so severe, his face is very blue, so I won and didn't put much thought to it, or the penciled writing on his uniform ,until a few weeks ago when I threw it up on B/S/T and got some advice on it from resident Net 54 printer Steve B.....

The shift is not your "typical" color shift....It is oddly more severe than the average shift......also, part of the small green section is not shifted the same way the rest of the card is....An interesting theory was proposed by Steve..

He said this looks like a type of "proofing" card a printer might run off a sheet to see if the plates had any "issues" before production/ color, ect...This particular card shows the plate problem with the obvious "shift" but the lower portion is not as "askew" as the rest of the plate....He also suggested that the "NOTATION" in the uniform is indicative of printers notes possibly looks like a good sign of printer notation....Upon closer inspection(I always thought the card looked short), It is short almost a 1/16 " of an inch...SGC might have missed the mark, they occasionally grade short cards to give a deviation of size to a small degree.....I think this card, if I re submit will come back "A" giving it more evidence of a type of "printers" proofing card...

Theory sounds very plausible....I need other opinions...

I need to see other Hartsels with the color shift( all the rest have the entire shift, and not just a partial shift as this card does have)....

Has anyone seen similar shifts???Harstels like this???

Has anyone seen printer's notes similar anywhere??