PDA

View Full Version : OT- Yesterday was the 75th anniversary of Vander Meer's 2nd consecutive no-hitter

Scott Garner
06-16-2013, 08:14 PM
Sorry about this being posted a day late, but I just returned from vacation.

Yesterday, June 15th, 2013 was the 75th anniversary of Johnny "Double No-Hit" Vander Meer's 2nd consecutive no-hitter.

Here's a toast to one of MLB's most enduring records... :D

Bumpus Jones
06-16-2013, 09:22 PM
Well done! My friend.

jerseygary
06-17-2013, 10:43 AM
I was at the Reds game on Saturday which was Johnny Vander Meer double no-hitter give-away night. Know what they gave away? A lousy 8 1/2x11 one sided badly designed graphic of him. Who the heck wants that, especially when you have to carry it around the whole game? Out of all the things to commemorate the achievement which will most likely never be equaled, the Reds give a flimsy print out? As a designer and illustrator I have tried for years to help the team out with their commemoratives and give always but always get a block from the front office.

What a blown opportunity to commemorate a super-human sports record!

Here is a link to a story and drawing I did of Johnny Vander Meer and his double no-hitters

Johnny Vander Meer: Pride Of The Garden State (http://infinitecardset.blogspot.com/2010/12/60-johnny-vander-meer-pride-of-garden.html)

batsballsbases
06-17-2013, 11:30 AM
Very nice Scott! He would have been proud!;)

perezfan
06-17-2013, 04:56 PM
A perfect excuse to post one of my favorite pennants- Commemorating Baseball's most unbreakable record...

Nobody could ever pull off 3 consecutive No No's... Could they? :rolleyes:

Bumpus Jones
06-17-2013, 09:00 PM
Way to rub it in Mark;)

Scott Garner
06-17-2013, 09:07 PM
A perfect excuse to post one of my favorite pennants- Commemorating Baseball's most unbreakable record...

Nobody could ever pull off 3 consecutive No No's... Could they? :rolleyes:

Mark,
Thanks for posting your Vandy no-hitter pennant. Awesome!