PDA

View Full Version : Thought you all might appreciate this...

ZenPop
06-11-2013, 01:29 AM
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm145/johnmav2/MoonAlice_SF_UnionSquare_600px.jpg

I'm an artist / designer... and I finally got to combine my love of baseball cards with my love of art / music... I did a poster last year for a band Moonalice, in which I used the 1952 Bowman set (one of my very favorites) as a frame for my illustration in the center...

I arranged the cards in groupings... (eg. Pitchers with their hands above their heads, catchers, portraits with blue sky and clouds behind them, Phillies, since the leader of the group is a big Phillies' fan and (of course) Giants all in a row...since I'm a big Giants' fan and the concert was in San Francisco, etc.)... Like all Moonalice shows they distribute posters after the show... so it was a pretty cool experience...

nebboy
06-11-2013, 07:47 AM
Very nice design
I like the groupings, and overall design is very strong.

ZenPop
06-11-2013, 08:47 AM
I appreciate it!

4reals
06-11-2013, 08:51 AM
Thank you for sharing! As a novice designer I appreciate this kind of work very much. Did you use Indesign? I'm currently piecing a sheet together for another member on these boards so I know the time it takes!

Paul S
06-11-2013, 09:31 AM
Very cool. You got a bit of Magritte in you! :)

(Plus, you picked wbat may be my very favorite 50's set).

CW
06-11-2013, 10:00 AM
Looks great!

darkhorse9
06-11-2013, 11:18 AM
Really cool design and I hope the band is great. But it is important to note that those baseball cards are copywritten images and using them in an advertising capacity could land you in some financial hot water.

I don't want to be a curmudgeon and I hope that's not going to be the case, but it's always important to remember the intellectual property laws in such things even when there is no direct financial gain on the use. My two decades in marketing have taught me such.

ZenPop
06-11-2013, 07:48 PM