PDA

View Full Version : Revisiting the SGC vs PSA vs Beckett discussion, where do the three stand in 2013?

the 'stache
03-30-2013, 03:45 AM
Just like ripping a band aid off of a hairy arm, I wish to reopen the old wound that is the SGC vs PSA vs Beckett (BVG) debate. Why? Because while I have seen this discussed ad nauseam on different sports card websites (here, collectors universe, sportscardforum, etc), opinions can change over time. As a stock broker, I know it is always prudent to find the most current information before making any investment decision. And let's face it, while we buy for the love of the sport and the hobby, we are making considerable investments (regardless of whether or not we ever liquidate our holdings!)

I know that the big three, SGC, PSA and Beckett (BGS and BVG for vintage) will have several professionals that will do the grading, and typically a submitted card will receive review from more than one grader. I also know that while the standards are typically pretty consistent over time, certain dynamics do change from time to time (ie, one of these companies might hire a new "head grader", if you will). So rather than assume (break out the Felix Unger at the chalkboard clip explaining that when you assume....), I would like to know definitively where we stand in 2013.

I am not thin skinned, so if I speak out of line, making a statement that is factually incorrect, by all means, please correct me!