PDA

View Full Version : Cy Young Auto...Legit?

slidekellyslide
02-20-2013, 10:45 AM
Posting these photos for a local friend who picked this up at the KC Show last week. What do you guys think?

Bpm0014
02-20-2013, 11:18 AM
Why would he use his last name when writing to his mother? I'm by no means an expert though. I personally wouldn't buy it.

Scott Garner
02-20-2013, 11:26 AM
Why would he use his last name when writing to his mother? I'm by no means an expert though. I personally wouldn't buy it.

Walter is his mother? :)

isaac2004
02-20-2013, 11:57 AM
walter is his mother? :)

lolololol

Runscott
02-20-2013, 11:59 AM
Wow. For a minute there I thought I owned a worthless 'Mother Johnson' autograph!!!

cubsfan-budman
02-20-2013, 12:21 PM
Too funny :)

Bpm0014
02-20-2013, 01:01 PM
I thought it said "Dear MOTHER"!!. HAHAHAHAHAHHA!!

jgmp123
02-20-2013, 01:40 PM
I'm no expert, but I would pass....I don't like the "Y" in either

jgmp123
02-20-2013, 01:48 PM
Does it say at all when it was signed...Of course date is a big factor, but below is my Cy that was purchased from Jim Stinson....The "Y" are very different in my opinion...

Hope this helps...

GrayGhost
02-20-2013, 01:51 PM
Ive seen a straighter Y like Mr. Bretta's example before that I think was good. Hard to say. Rest of it looks pretty good IMO.

We need Mr. Stinson and Mr. Simon:)

JimStinson
02-20-2013, 05:39 PM
It looks like its postmarked 1913 , Is that correct ? If so the signature is going to vary (somewhat) from what most of us are used to seeing. Is it possible to see the entire item ? Or is it just 1/2 of a postcard ?

JimStinson
02-20-2013, 06:04 PM
Here is the name WALTER in Cy Young's hand written in 1935. Compare it to the Walter not mother.....:):):) On the postcard.

I Only Smoke 4 the Cards
02-20-2013, 06:23 PM
The letter "r" in Walter is different in your friend's photo than in the exemplar.

steve B
02-20-2013, 08:58 PM