PDA

View Full Version : Beckett Graded a REAL set of FRO-JOYS!

danmckee
01-07-2013, 02:42 PM
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1928-Babe-Ruth-Fro-Joy-set-/290841072205?pt=US_Baseball&hash=item43b77a924d

WOW! I am impressed! SGC should hire whoever Beckett has!

ScottFandango
01-07-2013, 03:30 PM
leon, i didnt know you like BGS

Leon
01-07-2013, 03:35 PM
leon, i didnt know you like BGS

Where do you see BGS? I like and respect BVG grading very much which is who these are all graded by. BGS probably does good on newer stuff but I have no experience with them.

Clutch-Hitter
01-07-2013, 05:18 PM
I've never seen a fake, or even an iffy Fro Joy in an SGC holder. I do believe SGC stopped grading them because they were getting mostly 70's reprints and having lots of disappointed customers.

Beckett holders only real ones.

The real ones can be identified by a scan of front and back. See previous Fro Joy threads for detailed info.

GoldenAge50s
01-07-2013, 06:17 PM
1 of the 6 is an SGC.

tiger8mush
01-07-2013, 09:10 PM
Where do you see BGS? I like and respect BVG grading very much which is who these are all graded by. BGS probably does good on newer stuff but I have no experience with them.

The name of the ebay seller for the Fro Joys is "944leon", I think thats where Scott was going w/his statement

Leon
01-07-2013, 09:35 PM
The name of the ebay seller for the Fro Joys is "944leon", I think thats where Scott was going w/his statement

I saw that and it flew right over my head. :o

Exhibitman
01-08-2013, 04:51 PM
Props tp BVG on having the 'nards to do what a card grader should do. I had them slab my Fro Joy Ruth cards, which I knew were 100% legit from comparing them to my Fro Joy Tunney cards.

Leon
01-11-2013, 11:00 AM
Props tp BVG on having the 'nards to do what a card grader should do. I had them slab my Fro Joy Ruth cards, which I knew were 100% legit from comparing them to my Fro Joy Tunney cards.