PDA

View Full Version : Topps Gyped Us...

Harliduck
11-20-2012, 10:59 AM
Being a newbie, I am sorry if this has been brought up already, but after reading back 3 years of posts (haha, I can't get enough, nerd here) I haven't seen it.

For whatever reason, Topps didn't make certain cards of players at the begining of their careers, or the end, and we got screwed. Not talking the "non" contract cards of the 50's and the Maury Wills situations, but these -

1957 Harmon Killebrew

Got to start with my idol. A 55, 56....no 57?? One of the coolest years of cards, and no Killer. Back on track with a 58...

1976 Harmon Killebrew

I would have killed for a card with him in a Royals uniform!!

1974 Willie Mays

The World Series card is not enough, and it would have helped that lackluster year...

1967 Sandy Koufax

Now that was just RUDE! He won 27 games in 66!!

1966 Steve Carlton

Rookie card in 65, then had to wait until 67?? I was ticked when I went for this set!

1977 Reggie Jackson

Ok, there was a card, but an airbrushed (poorly) Yankee? How awesome would it have been to have an action shot of him as an Oriole!?!?

1970 Mickey Mantle

OK, he was retired...but cmon, stretch him ONE MORE YEAR!

1972 Ernie Banks

Seriously? He still hit 3 HRs in 71!!

1967 Bobby Richardson

The guy had a FULL season in 66! Is 139 games not enough?

1980 Thurman Munson

He played almost a 100 games before he passed away, Topps missed a BIG opportunity to honor a great one...instead, no card.

1975 Al Kaline

The guy has a full season, gets his 3000 hit (can't quite get that last HR though, haha) and all he gets is a Highlight card...gyped!

I am sure there are many more...but I would have loved to have any one of these cards...especially the Killebrews!!

NewEnglandBaseBallist
11-20-2012, 11:24 AM
Great list, Harliduck. Here's a few more:

1972 Topps card of Luis Tiant with the Red Sox
1974 or 1975 Topps card of Orlando Cepeda with the Royals