PDA

View Full Version : Help with 2 antique/vintage baseballs(lemon peel?)

Mac927
11-01-2012, 05:59 PM
I don't post much as this is my first post in about 3 years but I recently came across 2 old baseballs at a local auction. The one appears to be a lemon peel of some sort and the other I have no idea. It is made of leather and is the size of a golf ball but has a baseball stitching pattern. I have provided pictures with a present day MLB ball to show the size differences. Any help would be appreciated and possibly a value as well. I dont have much experience in antique baseballs. Thanks in advance for your help.

drc
11-01-2012, 07:43 PM
I'm no expert, but there were mini-sized baseballs in the early 1900s.

BigJJ
11-01-2012, 07:47 PM
Interesting items. Baseball was primarily a game for children and youths until 1840-1850, and most small lemonpeels and belt balls date from that time period, or earlier. But your small ball appears to be a figure eight, dating to post 1870-1880, may be additionally dated to the later date based on what looks like it being a harder ball. Balls got progressively harder until finally we, unfortunately, needed mitts, c.1880-1895. So I think you have either some unusual salesman sample or child's baseball from c.1880-1890. The other ball appears to be a rural made, softer, four piece? (hard to see in the photos) lemon peel baseball c.1860, better made ones had three interior sticthes, one exterior, and even better if made of one, instead of four, pieces of leather. Nice pickups.

thecatspajamas
11-01-2012, 08:33 PM
The smaller ball looks like a well-worn "cork ball" to me rather than a "mini baseball". I'm basing that on the stitching appearing to be spaced farther apart than what I have seen on true mini baseballs. Brandon may be able to give more specific differences between the two (stitch count, perhaps?), but at that level of wear, I don't think it would make a huge difference price-wise.