PDA

View Full Version : Cornelius McGillicuddy signed bank doc

YankeeFan
09-14-2012, 10:40 AM
I'm new to Net54. I’ve been browsing many different posts for a few days and I love the camaraderie, the exchange of information and the pictures of so many great items. I've been collecting for over 30 years, but I never really got into autographs. I came across a Cornelius McGillicuddy signed bank document in an antique shop recently. I know Connie Mack's are pretty common, but Cornelius McGillicuddy's are not seen too often.

I've done some research on-line, comparing it to images from the archives of some of the well-known auction houses. There aren’t many to compare it to. It looks to me that it is likely to be authentic, but my eye is not experienced.

I think it is a hobby-fresh item, based on the story the owner told me. It deserves to get more exposure than it has been getting sitting in an antique co-op where there are very few sports-related items and most people who pass by it don’t even know who Cornelius McGillicuddy is!

But the asking price is too much for me to take a risk on without being at least reasonably sure it's authentic and because I do not know its value. Even if it is real, I don’t want to overpay for it. Of course, it would be great if I could actually get a bargain on it.

So, if anyone is willing to help by offering their opinion on whether or not it looks genuine and/or its current market value, it would be greatly appreciated. Before you decide if you would like to share your knowledge, I have to be honest and tell you that as much as I love the history behind an item like this, it’s not really up my alley, so if I do get it, it would likely show up in the Buy/Sell/Trade section at some point, assuming it passes authentication.