PDA

View Full Version : What are the sets/issues that use photographs and not lithos

markf31
08-12-2012, 08:54 AM
I was curious as to what are the sets/issues that utilize photographs as opposed to litho prints. My knowledge is very limited as I'm still very new to prewar collecting. The ones I'm aware of are N172, Zeenut and Exhibits. What are some others?

Bicem
08-12-2012, 08:58 AM
well Fatimas are not only photo based, but actual real-photo cards.

yanksfan09
08-12-2012, 09:03 AM
There's a bunch, really too many to list. My favorite being the D381's.

E121's E220, Willards, Maple Cripette, M101-4/5 type issues, Collins-McCarthy, R315, W517 just to name a few....

Check out oldcardboard.com they show basically every pre war issue with a photo example (look at the gallery prints for a quick overview of different types), I love cards with real photos/black and white issues...

yanksfan09
08-12-2012, 09:07 AM
Just wanted to add that a lot of these type issues came in the time period 0f 1915-early/mid twenties at a time when they're weren't as many other issues to choose from, which is partly why I look at a lot of these sets as being significant. Many early Ruths are black and white photo issues...

bcbgcbrcb
08-12-2012, 10:30 AM
William Paterson, Baguer Chocolate & W590 (one of the very few, true strip card sets to qualify)

markf31
08-12-2012, 10:48 AM
There's a bunch, really too many to list. My favorite being the D381's.

E121's E220, Willards, Maple Cripette, M101-4/5 type issues, Collins-McCarthy, R315, W517 just to name a few....

Check out oldcardboard.com they show basically every pre war issue with a photo example (look at the gallery prints for a quick overview of different types), I love cards with real photos/black and white issues...

Thanks for the oldcardboard link, that will make my search much easier. I was not aware there were so many photo based prewar sets.

drc
08-12-2012, 11:24 AM