PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

thisisradioclash
07-21-2012, 10:54 PM
Hello everyone! My name is Nick, and I'm newly-approved to join the board. I'm a Naval officer stationed in Hawaii, which as you might imagine, is not exactly the best place to stumble across prewar cards (though I did see an Old Judge card of a boxer at a flea market once). I'm originally from DC and have moved around quite a bit as you all might imagine, being in the service.

I'm not nearly as accomplished a pre-war collector as probably everyone else on the board, but I love reading and learning on the boards. I've developed a shine to the T213 Type 2 set (the Coupon cigarettes "Made in New Orleans" set), and I'm thinking about unloading most of my post-'60s cards to work on that in the future. I particularly like the Walter Johnson from that set, as it reminds me of DC, my home, and New Orleans, where I met my girlfriend/partner!

Figured I would say hello to everyone so when I start posting, it's not completely out of left field. See you all on the boards!

mrvster
07-21-2012, 11:04 PM
We welcome you with open arms.......thanx for your service to our great country:D

Great choice to collect that issue....if u ever get a chance, check out t206 ;)

Peace

welcome again

Johnny V

carrigansghost
07-21-2012, 11:22 PM
Permission to come aboard shipmate,

Rawn

tjb1952tjb
07-22-2012, 01:17 AM
WELCOME!! You'll find a lot of great vintage card information here.....and a lot of great guys. :)

smotan_02
07-22-2012, 06:31 AM
Go Army! Beat Navy!
Welcome to the boards. You won't find a better group.

I was stationed in Hawaii from 2005-2009...unbelievable duty assignment. But sadly you're right, tough on the collection.

Jay Wolt
07-22-2012, 07:26 AM
Nick welcome aboard!
Hawaii is a great place to be stationed, my boy while a Marine was stationed there in between his stops in Afghanistan.
Thank You for your service.

FrankWakefield
07-22-2012, 07:38 AM
Welcome.