PDA

View Full Version : information about buying autographed item

g_vezina_c55
04-27-2012, 10:33 AM
hi everybody

i am into sportcards since 1990 but i never bought any autographed item in my life. I have no experience in this part of the hobby and now i came to a step in my hobby carreer to perhaps buy autographed item

BUT

i would like to have some trick from you memorabilia expert how can i buy an item like a ball autographed by mickey mantle and be sure i am not victim of a fraud.. ?

If i see a ball like this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PSA-DNA-MICKEY-MANTLE-AUTOGRAPHED-SIGNED-AMERICAN-LEAGUE-BOBBY-BROWN-BASEBALL-/230777695456?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35bb6c2ce0

it is legit ? i see a letter from PSA DNA but a simple letter is easy to counterfeit no ?

any help to guide me into the purchase of autographed item is welcome

So any advice to how to buy autograph item is welcome

thanks

travrosty
04-27-2012, 10:43 AM
if it says psa or jsa, that means nothing and their word is just an opinion and not backed up by anything. so forget that. we have just seen walter johnson, goose goslin, ty cobb get pulled off of ebay, and these had certs by the "big two".

go to a respectable authenticator or dealer and they can help you find a real mantle.

shelly
04-27-2012, 10:54 AM
The is perfect not a ten but the signiture is a good as it gets.:)

g_vezina_c55
04-27-2012, 10:56 AM
if it says psa or jsa, that means nothing and their word is just an opinion and not backed up by anything. so forget that. we have just seen walter johnson, goose goslin, ty cobb get pulled off of ebay, and these had certs by the "big two".

go to a respectable authenticator or dealer and they can help you find a real mantle.

OK

i thinked it was like in cards. When a card is graded by sgc or psa or bgs, we can buy it and be sure it is the real thing...
it is not the same for autographed item.

the seller , look like to be a big dealer, he sell many auto item..