PDA

View Full Version : Eddie Matthews Signature

EMT911inWI
04-04-2012, 12:42 PM
Hi all - If anyone with some experience in the old Milwaukee Braves signatures please take a look at this and give me some input it would be greatly appreciated. I'm interested in this ball but I have some reservations on the validity of the signature.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Eddie-Mathews-Signed-Baseball-4-Boston-Milwaukee-Atlanta-Braves-Astros-w-COA-/120888362765?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c2582070d

Thanks!

EMT911inWI - Jeff

bender07
04-04-2012, 01:03 PM
I'm no expert but it looks good to me. What are your reservations? Mathews certainly isn't a typical forger target.

GrayGhost
04-04-2012, 01:37 PM
Its fine IMO

thetruthisoutthere
04-04-2012, 01:40 PM
I'm no expert but it looks good to me. What are your reservations? Mathews certainly isn't a typical forger target.

With all due respect, I disagree. All athletes, entertainers, etc., whether they are a bench warmer, back-up, character actor, etc., are forger targets. There are plenty of Ebay sellers who stay under the radar by listing & selling the aforementioned type forgeries.

There was a seller on Ebay who always had over 1,000 signed baseball, basketball, football, and hockey cards on Ebay on a weekly basis. Every one of them a forgery and selling between $5.00 and $20.00 each. They sold approximately 50 every week, and that was only one seller. There are hundreds of sellers like that on Ebay, maybe more.

mr2686
04-04-2012, 04:19 PM
A few years ago I might have disagreed with Chris. It just doesn't seem to make any sense to spend the time to forge some little know/remembered player that would only bring $10 or $15 dollars, but now I'm seeing more and more of the strangest players being forged. You really need to be on your toes at all times in this hobby.
With that said, I do believe that Mathews is good, and also, I have had several dealings with that seller and he has always been top notch.