PDA

View Full Version : Wish me luck or talk me out of this?

Jim F
03-27-2012, 08:45 AM
Hi guys.

This Ali photo was in a large collection that I picked up last year. The inscription is really cool but the photo is stuck to glass from the frame the owner had it in for years. I have been reading up on how to attempt to remove it and am leaning towards taking a shot knowing that I have a less then 50% chance of ruining the photo. Do I risk it?

Jim.

http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/ee135/jpvintagesports/scan0004-4.jpg

barrysloate
03-27-2012, 09:06 AM
From what I've been told, if you attempt to separate the photo from the glass it is highly likely bits of the emulsion will remain stuck to it. Chance of this working out is very small. I guess it depends on just how stuck it is.

GoldenAge50s
03-27-2012, 09:11 AM
I would suggest you get plenty of advice BEFORE you go ahead & try it!

Tomman1961
03-27-2012, 09:23 AM
First, I have NO experience with this. But let me throw my 2 cents in.
I have been in the plastic bag making business for 25 years. I have seen this "look" where it appears to be wet. At least that is what the scan looks like. In my business, it is known as wet blocking. On plastic that has been printed-like the roll of plastic bags in the produce department-when you pull apart the 2 layers-or in this case the glass from the picture, I believe it is highly probably that some of the ink stays on the glass. Wet blocking will make some of the printed plastic bag ink stay where it belongs, and some of it will transfer to the back of the layers.
I hope I explained this clearly.
Again-not so sure it will happen with glass/photo. Just my thoughts. Like a previous poster said-get a lot of opinions and advice before you try this. Let us know.

Jim F
03-27-2012, 09:25 AM
Barry, it's VERY stuck.

Not sure where to turn to for advice. I did a few searches and kept coming up with the same procedure. Getting cold feet, would be a shame to ruin this photo even further.