PDA

View Full Version : I am loving this hobby!

sandmountainslim
01-21-2012, 07:06 AM
Relative newbie here, only collecting a year and a half but I am loving collecting vintage cards even though I don't have multi-thousands to spend on them :) I have been a Superman Comics collector since 1978 but in this short span my love for old cardboard has almost equaled my passion for old pulp paper.

No big collection here and nothing high dollar but so far I have picked up

22 T206 commons (my fav set so I am trying to get as many as I can reasonably)

3 T202 End Panels

7 1933 Goudey's

2 1940 Play Ball (ugly card to me but they were cheap)

20 T205 reprints (HOF cards I can't afford)

2 sets of Old Judge Reprints (Would LOVE to collect this set but as a workin man and single parent they are outta my range so Im sticking to t206)

Sporting News Shoeless Joe reprint (another I can't afford in original)

I know reprints don't have the love or honor of original cards but with some like Old Judge its the only way I can enjoy the set.

GREAT hobby and I can't tell you folks how useful this forum has been in helping me learn about cards. Thanks everyone!

mrvster
01-21-2012, 07:24 AM
Welcome aboard:)

T206 are my favorite

Enjoy....

Peace

Johnny

FrankWakefield
01-21-2012, 07:32 AM
Sand, sounds like you're collecting because of reasons other than merely what a card is worth or some number a slabbing company has assigned... refreshing!!! That's the way to enjoy the hobby!!!

sandmountainslim
01-21-2012, 07:38 AM
Sand, sounds like you're collecting because of reasons other than merely what a card is worth or some number a slabbing company has assigned... refreshing!!! That's the way to enjoy the hobby!!!

Yeah never thought of it that way but I dislike slabbed and graded cards, I stay away from them even when priced right. I buy them to look at and for the players I like hence my quest for a Rusie or Phenom Smith reprint :)

barrysloate
01-21-2012, 07:46 AM