PDA

View Full Version : Won in the Ninth: analysis of signed presentation copies

baseballart
11-11-2011, 10:45 AM
An interesting article from Peter Nash of http://www.haulsofshame.com on the Mathewson Won in Ninth bookplate signatures of a limited edition of 500

http://haulsofshame.com/blog/?p=9557#.Tr00Jn-Fbtk.twitter

(I'm still looking to find out if this book ever came with a dust jacket --it should have, given when it was published--but I imagine more here care about whether the signatures are genuine)

D. Bergin
11-11-2011, 11:07 AM
I'm not an expert, but is it possible he just tightened up his signature to fit on the space given in the bookplate?

Would a ghost signer in 1910, still keep so many of the same aspects that seem to be present in all the other exemplars they claim as good?

Tigerden
11-11-2011, 11:40 AM
I'm not an expert, but is it possible he just tightened up his signature to fit on the space given in the bookplate?

Would a ghost signer in 1910, still keep so many of the same aspects that seem to be present in all the other exemplars they claim as good?

Dave- I thought the same thing. A ghost signer or secretarial signature is usually pretty easy to spot, exhibiting many different characteristics such as slant and pen pressure (Babe Ruth's Sinclair Oil ball for example). Maybe he took his time and took a different approach to signing the bookplates than he would have signed a letter or autograph for a fan at the ballpark.

RichardSimon
11-11-2011, 12:00 PM
An interesting article from Peter Nash of http://www.haulsofshame.com on the Mathewson Won in Ninth bookplate signatures of a limited edition of 500

http://haulsofshame.com/blog/?p=9557#.Tr00Jn-Fbtk.twitter

(I'm still looking to find out if this book ever came with a dust jacket --it should have, given when it was published--but I imagine more here care about whether the signatures are genuine)