PDA

View Full Version : more Baseball Forensics - Pete Hill

Runscott
10-16-2011, 09:37 AM
Well, I did learn a little from the Cartwright Dag cluster-fvck thread, and thought this might be an interesting exercise for the non-forensic experts.

Here's an image from a photo I used to own (also on front page of my website), that we debated back in 2003. Some thought it might be Pete Hill, others no. Next to it is the real Pete Hill (Sorry the pic is so big, but too lazy to shrink and upload again). Original debate thread follows, but come up with your own independent opinion before peeking.

http://runscott.homestead.com/files/NLg12.jpghttp://artvoice.com/issues/v10n18/sports_feature/sports3

What black Giants team is this? (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=64157)

novakjr
10-16-2011, 09:48 AM
I'd go with Yes.. It's more than likely Pete Hill. But, I'm no expert.

sando69
10-16-2011, 10:32 AM
um... don't the ears reveal the answer?

bmarlowe1
10-16-2011, 10:43 AM
I agree with Mark Sanders. Not Hill - ears clearly don't match.

Also he has a deep chin cleft or scar, Hill does not. Of course if it's from an injury, we would need to know the time sequence of the photos. However the ears are determinitive.

Runscott
10-16-2011, 11:41 AM
um... don't the ears reveal the answer?

Yes, but oddly, none of us mentioned that in the original discussion. When I looked at the picture today it was pretty simple to tell - I think it's because of spending over an hour reading that AJC Dag article yesterday morning. All those little green and red marks stuck in my head :)

bmarlowe1
10-16-2011, 12:03 PM
In 2003 it is possible that no one on the board was aware of things like ear matching. Now, quite a few board memebrs are aware of it, and they can do it, at least for clear photos, very well. I think that is has helped the hobby screen out a lot of bogus photos in recent years.

RichardSimon
10-16-2011, 03:53 PM