PDA

View Full Version : 1934 Goudey Set Help

jg8422
06-15-2011, 08:29 AM
I am looking to build the '34 set in PSA 5-6 range. Should I go with PSA or SGC? Is one better than the other for pre-war cards? Does one sell for more on the retail end? Will it be easier to complete in PSA b/c they have graded more cards?

I am a novice when it comes to pre-war cards so I am looking to my fellow collectors for some good advice.

Anything extremely important I need to know before starting this set?

Thank you all in advance,

Jeff

scmavl
06-15-2011, 08:50 AM
Great set to collect. I personally think this set looks better in SGC and they are also (around here) considered the more consistent graders, especially for pre-war cards. That being said, if you're looking for resale value, PSA generally sells higher (especially 50's and newer). But if this is for you to keep, I'd go SGC.

jg8422
06-15-2011, 08:58 AM
I generally collect as a collector. So yes, the set would be for me. Will I have a hard time finding all of the cards in SGC? I go prefere their holders and presentation much more than PSA.

Are most pre-war collectors going with SGC now-a-days? I have always heard go with SGC for prewar, PSA post war, and BGS for modern cards.

Leon
06-15-2011, 09:11 AM