PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a quick opinion on this T206 Cobb?

itjclarke
06-09-2011, 10:31 PM
Won this card tonight... It's a raw T206 Cobb red portrait. I didn't pick up the bidding until there were literally 45 seconds left and decided to roll the dice. Seller has very strong feedback and allows returns, so that is mostly comforting. Does card look legit? Looked good to me, but I am still learning. My worries would of course be authenticity, and close behind alterations of any kind. Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&_trksid=p4340.l2557&rt=nc&nma=true&item=160597480335&si=KIlj9fD57zx91q%252BuWttpiRWwBns%253D&viewitem=#ht_505wt_922

Leon
06-09-2011, 10:44 PM
Looks "collected" and fine to me....Nice card.....

edited to add that many, if not most, times you can't tell any kind or recoloring from a scan. You are probably ok on this one but it's always a possibility....just throwing that out there...

itjclarke
06-09-2011, 11:29 PM
Thanks!

E93
06-09-2011, 11:32 PM
Definitely real.
JimB

atx840
06-09-2011, 11:55 PM
I was watching it and its green sister, both look fine and the seller has many other cards up so chances are its the real deal. Nice pickup.

fkw
06-10-2011, 12:00 AM
Great deal! I would have guess it would have ended in the $450-$500 range myself, OM backs are a bit tougher than the common ones.

hopefully none of the spots of paper damage in face are recolored, but if so you can reverse it easily I would think. It got stepped on while on the cement.

I missed it, but those raw cards seem to slip through the cracks a bit at times.... many are now so scared of anything not slabbed, they are too lazy to educate themselves on how to tell the difference and assume if its raw its a fake. Love It!

chaddurbin
06-10-2011, 12:08 AM
had a snipe around $300...would've been happy to pay that price for my beater collection.

too many holes in the front for me (i'm weirdly allergic to them physically).