PDA

View Full Version : T206 backs: what do they mean?

freakhappy
03-25-2011, 11:15 AM
I'm fairly new to collecting T206's and I'm not totally informed as to the meanings on some of the backs. For example, I know that everything outside of the normal Piedmont and Sweet Caporal backs carry a little to higher premium. This is where it gets fuzzy for me...what's the deal with Piedmont 150 25, 350 25, 350-460 25/42? Why the different numbers? Is this like a series or something? I understand that 350-460 42 are worth more than regular Piedmont backs, but why is this?...and same with Sweet Caporal's 42...and what's the overprint about?

Sorry for all of the questions, but I'm tired of not knowing and thought I would ask you guys. Thanks!

Mike

aelefson
03-25-2011, 12:15 PM
Hi-
While I do not collect T206s myself, here are some brief answers to your questions. I am sure others will provide more detail, but here is a quick response:
Piedmont 150 or 350 etc, are the number of images that were supposed to be in that series (it is the number printed on the back of the card such as 150 Subjects on the back of a Piedmont 150 series card in the top right corner). Scott Reader has an excellent book that can tell you a lot more about these series. They correspond to different printing dates within the 1909-1912 time frame.
Factory 25, 30, etc, are the factory numbers printed on the bottom of back of the card that shows which factory it was printed at. Some factories (like Piedmont 42) are harder to find than others).
Overprints (or overstrikes) are when the factory number is overprinted by an ornate red bar (normally) and a new factory number is added.
This is a very quick response. I do recommend you try searching this forum as their is a great deal of information on here about T206s. I also recommend checking the Archive section up top as well.
Good Luck,
Alan

ChiSoxFan
03-25-2011, 12:15 PM