PDA

View Full Version : Counterfeit Cracker Jack

jimivintage
02-12-2011, 12:02 PM
I've only owned a couple of Cracker Jacks in my day and both were graded, so I could use a little help here. I have a fellow collector friend online that picked some up at an "estate sale".....(always makes me nervous....) Anyway, he sent this scan to me, and unfortunately the scan is rather small. I'm not sure how savvy he is with a scanner. Anyway, he is fearing they are fakes. I told him I thought they were fakes. The font seems far too dark at the bottom, but I am no expert by any means. The back scan is of another card.

ctownboy
02-12-2011, 12:12 PM
Wow,

The card is heavily creased yet the edges and corners are decent.

As far as authentic or not, I vote fake.

I am not an expert but I always thought the white of the jersey should match the borders of the card since BOTH of them were cardboard which were not printed on. I.e., the printer left the area for a white jersey blank but printed all the other areas. Thus a white jersey would blend in with a white border.

On the Baker card, the jersey is white but not AS white as the borders of the card. So you can distinctly tell the difference between the jersey and the borders instead of one flowing into the other with little to no difference being seen.

David

scooter729
02-12-2011, 12:14 PM
Agreed - fake. The front doesn't look right, and I second the part about the extreme creasing but sharp corners and edges. No good.

bbcard1
02-12-2011, 12:35 PM
Agreed - fake. The front doesn't look right, and I second the part about the extreme creasing but sharp corners and edges. No good.

I don't like the looks and I'll bet if you could feel the cardboard stock it would become completely apparent.

Ladder7
02-12-2011, 12:35 PM
Theyre right. counterfeit

jimivintage
02-12-2011, 12:40 PM