PDA

View Full Version : PBS Message: T206 Cobb Reprint

iggyman
02-06-2011, 03:03 PM
Another day, another gazillion reprints on eBay. Sorry grandpa, your Cobb is a reprint, but on the bright side the rest of the cards are good.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Lot-Piedmont-350-Cigarette-Baseball-Cards-Ty-Cobb-/290529935191

Lovely Day...

novakjr
02-06-2011, 03:24 PM
Isn't that the game? List a fake card with a few authentic commons, claim that they were all originally obtained together, and then hope people bid based on the fake card.

jrb97
02-06-2011, 04:17 PM
I saw those on ebay too. I am new to T206 but I figure if it's too good to be true, it probably is. How could you tell the Cobb was a reprint and the others were not? The pictures of the cards are so poor. For a novice, it is hard to tell anything from them. The seller has them listed as original so would Ebay/Paypal back the buyer if in fact they are reprints? I guess the old saying applies - buyer beware.

steve B
02-06-2011, 06:04 PM
The biggest thing is that there's no factory designation on the Cobb.

Aside from the story, there are a couple other things that stand out.
One is that the wear on the cobb looks unnatural. The corners are too even, not that corners don;t wear evenly, but ones worn that bad usually show more difference.

A smaller thing is that if it's an original group of cards the diffeence in wear is more than I'd expect to see. I've sen a few original finds, and while there are diferences in wear they're usually similar. I'd have no problem believing the 4 commons were found together. Some back damage on one, a crease on another, but the overall look of the cards are the same.

Steve B

novakjr
02-06-2011, 06:36 PM