PDA

View Full Version : Authentic vs. SGC 10 / PSA 1

joebrandon1977
01-23-2011, 11:35 PM
I'm relatively new to the T206 collecting world, but I guess this applies across all vintage cards.

I'm sure there are two sides to this, but what would you rather own?

1. Card that has been altered and is deemed "authentic", but may look great!

2. A card that has been unaltered and graded poor.

I've been collecting SGC 20 / PSA 2 and above just to stay out of this area thus far, but as I look at higher end cards and need the lower grades just to afford one, I want to make sure I wiegh everyone's opinion on this topic.

rdixon1208
01-23-2011, 11:57 PM
I prefer for my graded cards to have a numerical grade, but that's just me. Most people will say (I know because we've had this discussion before) that they would rather have a card with great eye appeal that is slightly trimmed and in an "A" holder than a beater that looks like it was folded up and carried around in some kid's watch pocket. I get that, but not every card in a 1 holder looks like that. I would rather have a card in a 10 or 20 holder that has some sort of technical problem that drives the grade down than an altered card. IMO the lower the technical grade the wider the potential variance in condition. There are a lot of nice cards out there in 10 and 20 holders.

teetwoohsix
01-24-2011, 01:47 AM
I think it comes down to what you feel comfortable collecting. It is about what you would like to/ want to see in your collection when you are looking at your cards- if it makes you happy, then all is good.