PDA

View Full Version : Cy Young on Ebay

joebrandon1977
01-21-2011, 06:24 PM
Hi guys,

I posted a couple of times here as I am a newbie to the T206 realm and trying to get some good cards under my belt.

Just wanted to get some thoughts on this card for the value / risk of getting an ungraded card like this one.

http://cgi.ebay.com/1909-T206-El-Principe-Gales-Cy-Young-Throwing-tough-/130475869037?pt=US_Baseball&hash=item1e60f7c36d

iggyman
01-21-2011, 07:26 PM
The T206 Cy Young is authentic but looks to have been trimmed on the top border. It will never receive a grade of "one" but will grade "authentic" (due to the trimming). The value is in the eye of the beholder, but the paper loss on the front bothers me more then a crease or two would (but that is just me). Nobody has jumped on the BUY-IT-NOW price, perhaps it's a bit high. At around the low ~$200 mark and putting into consideration the tough back, I believe a bunch of fish will jump out of the water to get it. Despite the flaw and trim job a nice card nonetheless, just have to get it at the right price.

As an FYI, you would probably get a more spirited debate by posting this on the main forum as opposed to here.

Lovely Day...

joebrandon1977
01-21-2011, 07:42 PM
Thanks Iggyman!

Agreed on the paperloss.

As a newbie, I guess I have another question (or two) after your post.

1. I assume people have trimmed these cards in the past, prior to grading, just to improve the look of the card. Is that correct?

As I research the T206's, there seems to be more trim jobs than I would expect. Maybe one here or there, but it seems to be more wide spread. Any thoughts to why?

2. As a collector, would you rather own an "A" or a 1? I'm sure there is a debate for this, but just curious on your opinion.

iggyman
01-21-2011, 08:59 PM